Kevin – saying goodbye to a lifelong friend


This evening my family and I attended a memorial service for a dear friend, Kevin Geier. He had lost his battle with cancer and passed away last week – he was a wonderful man of 62 years.

We lived across the street from one another and later in life he married one of my dearest friends, Heidi. We shared many memories throughout the years – as he did with many of his friends. The common thread we had was that we grew up on Tonia Court and our families spent time together celebrating holidays such as Fourth of July, Christmas, New Years Eve.
There were rights of passage – when I turned 21 years old – he and my older brother took me to my first nightclub to buy me the first alcoholic beverage.
Heidi and Kevin married in 1980 and one year later I had married in 1981; our first born children were one day apart. We shared raising our kids together (he was my son’s Little League coach) and his wife and I remained close through years of working together at Disney.
Why is it so hard to say goodbye? Rest in peace my friend – we will miss you!

20140309-225712.jpg

About Poisematters

Lori is a recognized Protocol and Etiquette expert who received her training in 1997 from The Protocol School of Washington. Lori is certified and trained in International and Corporate Protocol and Etiquette instruction. Lori began her career with the Disneyland Resort in 1975 and has over 40 years of service with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts. In 2001, Lori Dominguez received the Orange County Tourism Council's Service Excellence award in the area of accommodations (Hotels). Lori continues teaching workshops on Protocol & Etiquette to local schools in Southern California including Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach and Cal Poly Pomona and Chapman University. She enjoys Fashion, blogging, being a dog mom, loves social media and travel. Her family includes two grown sons; a husband who is a high school biology teach; and one very spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog.
This entry was posted in Authentic Self, Memories of Disneyland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kevin – saying goodbye to a lifelong friend

  1. grannyK says:

    Sorry for your loss. This is a beautiful post.

  2. Marion Dawirs says:

    A very sweet tribute to ties that will never be forgotten.

    M. marion@dawirs.com

  3. Cathy Waller says:

    I knew Kevin and his family in the early 70’s. I was wondering if there is an obituary printed somewhere that I could read….besides your beautiful memories.

    • Poisematters says:

      Let me ask his wife and get back to you, thanks for your message. Did you grow up in Anaheim? Lori

      • Cathy Waller says:

        Lori,
        Actually, I met Kevin at Cypress College and lived in Cypress at the time…I raised my children and currently live in Anaheim now.
        Thank you so much for your response…..I am very sad to hear of Kevin’s passing…..
        By reading your blog, I know he had a wonderful life and a dear friend in you…..
        Sincerely,
        Cathy

Leave a Reply

