Reflections of today, my birthday


September 7th

Today is my birthday and it got me thinking and reflecting back on my favorite birthdays in the last 56 years. Two birthdays come to mind; that were my favorites mainly due to the rite of passage.

 

image

At age 16, my parents threw me a sweet sixteen birthday party (surprise) and invited 10 girls and 1 guy all from my neighborhood and high school.  The day was fabulous, my father took me to the DMV in Fullerton, California early in the morning to take my driving exam and I passed and got my driver’s license.  I remember getting the standard parents speech from him; that a vehicle was a weapon and safety needs to be paramount!  That evening after my birthday dinner of barbecue spare ribs and corn on the cob; the party guests and I split up into two cars and drove to the Stadium drive-in for a movie.  We took my dog (Trabuco) and my friend Abigail Doty also brought her dog, Zak a plump  basset hound. The movie we viewed was Ryan O’Neil and Tatum O’Neil in Paper Moon which was in black and white. We had so much fun – that I can still remember the details to this day.

image

My second favorite birthday was at 26, I was newly married and had a small son.

We had just bought a new home in Anaheim, California and moved in on my 26th Birthday. We spent the first month gutting the house of all the old wallpaper and carpeting.  I have fond memories of the magical day and love to think back on the history we were making.

Just like holidays and Christmas; Birthdays provide a mark in time of memories of a special time or period of your life. I feel like a very lucky woman to have such treasured memories over my life time.

susanandlori1976dlcostumes1.jpg

About Poisematters

Lori is a recognized Protocol and Etiquette expert who received her training in 1997 from The Protocol School of Washington. Lori is certified and trained in International and Corporate Protocol and Etiquette instruction. Lori began her career with the Disneyland Resort in 1975 and has over 40 years of service with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts. In 2001, Lori Dominguez received the Orange County Tourism Council's Service Excellence award in the area of accommodations (Hotels). Lori continues teaching workshops on Protocol & Etiquette to local schools in Southern California including Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach and Cal Poly Pomona and Chapman University. She enjoys Fashion, blogging, being a dog mom, loves social media and travel. Her family includes two grown sons; a husband who is a high school biology teach; and one very spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog.
This entry was posted in Authentic Self, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections of today, my birthday

  1. grannyK says:

    Happy Birthday to you!

  2. joanfrankham says:

    happy birthday, I hope it was a great day.

Leave a Reply

