Happy September – the traditional month for “back to school”


This morning while waiting for my carpool friend, I was inspired by watching my next door neighbors take photographs of their children for the first day of school.  As I sat there in my car, I reminisced on the days that my sons were in school and thought about the preparation for the “first day of school”.  As with most things in life, there are rituals we do to prepare for an event. Although my sons are now grown adult men, I cannot forget the school days and excitement in the house.  It starts when they first go to Kindergarten and continues to their High School years. I was lucky, my kids always wanted to go to school.

The year was 1991, as you can see my oldest wanted no part of taking pictures.  Or the giant video camera next to my purse on the bench.  I stopped taking pictures of them “for the first day of school” after 4th grade, from the point of view – that I may cause them to be embarrassed.

Each year the school principal would host a Breakfast for all Moms on the first day of school.  I would make sure to take the day off from work, so I would be able to attend.  Thinking back now – it was one of my most favorite occasions to attend.

 

So – after shopping for “back to school” – try to enjoy this special time with your kids.

time flies by so quickly – you blink and they are grown ups.

 

About Poisematters

Lori is a recognized Protocol and Etiquette expert who received her training in 1997 from The Protocol School of Washington. Lori is certified and trained in International and Corporate Protocol and Etiquette instruction. Lori began her career with the Disneyland Resort in 1975 and has over 37 years of service with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts. In 2001, Lori Dominguez received the Orange County Tourism Council's Service Excellence award in the area of accommodations (Hotels). Lori continues teaching workshops on Protocol & Etiquette to local schools in Southern California including Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach and Cal Poly Pomona and Chapman University. She enjoys Fashion, Blogging, raising puppies, loves Social Media and Travel. Her family includes two grown sons; a husband who is a Football Coach; and one very spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog. When she is not working you can find her traveling to exotic designations with her handsome Hubby.
This entry was posted in Authentic Self, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy September – the traditional month for “back to school”

  1. Cathrine Searight says:

    I enjoyed reading of your cojmments and of course, it brought my memories of my
    three children going off to school. The time went by way too fast.

  2. Cathrine Searight says:

    Enjoyed reading a second time and oh I loved the photos

Leave a Reply

