Love the Coat !! remember when your greatest fashion find was a new coat or cape


Fashions come and go but a bold coat in a different color hue…. adds to the other pieces in my closet.  For the last 12 years I have been collecting one of kind coats that I bought new in a department store OR…have found in a vintage store near the beach.

Shown above is a “bobbie brooks” military cape from the 1960’s, which was very popular.

My mother (now in her eighties) has given me her Tan 100% wool cape from 1969 shown below, it is still in good shape.  I took it to my favorite dry cleaners and the owner tried to purchase the “cape” from me!  I explained it was a “gift” from my Mother and I wanted to wear it.  He understood, but I was excited he was so interested in the cape.

TIP – Clean you Coat at the end of each season, even if the pieces were only worn once.  Body oils, perspiration and food stains can attract insects and some rodents to your closet.

About Poisematters

Lori is a recognized Protocol and Etiquette expert who received her training in 1997 from The Protocol School of Washington. Lori is certified and trained in International and Corporate Protocol and Etiquette instruction. Lori began her career with the Disneyland Resort in 1975 and has over 37 years of service with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts. In 2001, Lori Dominguez received the Orange County Tourism Council's Service Excellence award in the area of accommodations (Hotels). Lori continues teaching workshops on Protocol & Etiquette to local schools in Southern California including Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach and Cal Poly Pomona and Chapman University. She enjoys Fashion, Blogging, raising puppies, loves Social Media and Travel. Her family includes two grown sons; a husband who is a Football Coach; and one very spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog. When she is not working you can find her traveling to exotic designations with her handsome Hubby.
This entry was posted in Authentic Self, Fashion and Style and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love the Coat !! remember when your greatest fashion find was a new coat or cape

  1. leanneveitch says:

    I’m not surprised the owner tried to buy it from you. The workmanshipthat was around in those days was on a whole different level to what is available now.

    I’ve got a collection of vintage shirts from the 1970s and 1960s, and year after year they continue to wear better than anything I can buy new – even better than any new designer wear that I spend big $$$ on. The quality just isn’t around now. And yet these shirts were just average brands, probably sold in ordinary department stores. Certainly not designer!

    Hang onto that coat! 🙂 And yes, I’m very jealous!

  2. jessriospaz says:

    I love that I’m not the only one who buys different, bold coats! I have quite a few and even though they don’t all get worn each season, they are well loved and I always have someone asking me to give them my coat. No way!

Leave a Reply

