It took me over 30 years to say good-bye to ……fake nails


After viewing a show on Dr. Oz about women’s health and getting infections due to artificial nails, I made the decision to say goodbye to my fake nails. I know this is not a big deal to some, its not brain surgery or politics, but to some women it can be a beauty birthright. One of the arguments Dr. Oz had on the show for keeping nails real was to due to Women’s health. He reported that nails can tell the story of our own personal health.  If nails were discolored or ridged and peeling it can be part of an overall health condition.

Taking off the nails was difficult – in fact my children had never seen my hands without nails on them. My sons are grown men and I had these fake nails on before they were born. Many women spend a lot of money to get artificial nails and maintain their beauty regimen with frequent trips to the salon for manicures and pedicures.  I am all for taking care of yourself but when you consider what goes into getting a “fill” or a new set of nails on….. it is expensive and also can give away your age.  Chances are when you see a woman with a french manicure of artificial nails it draws attention to her age and when you think about the process of filing down the natural nail and using chemicals and glue and the smell, it is almost inhuman. But, yes I spent almost 30 years with fake nails on my fingers. It’s only been a few days since I have had them removed and my fingertips are almost in shock.  Harder to open up items, and my fingers are still sore and fresh air blowing on them is foreign. I would have to say that I am evolving from faux nails and being fake.  Come on how many times do we see decals, appliques or glitter on nails of our friends? There is nothing classy about nail art – nothing says the holidays like gluing a Halloween pumpkin to your thumb nail. Yikes…

For now – I am going to keep my nails short, light and natural.  If I am inclined to paint them RED over Christmas vacation that will be spurge for now.  What are your thoughts about fake nails?  Would love to hear from some of you out there…drop me a line or two.

About Poisematters

Lori is a recognized Protocol and Etiquette expert who received her training in 1997 from The Protocol School of Washington. Lori is certified and trained in International and Corporate Protocol and Etiquette instruction. Lori began her career with the Disneyland Resort in 1975 and has over 37 years of service with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts. In 2001, Lori Dominguez received the Orange County Tourism Council's Service Excellence award in the area of accommodations (Hotels). Lori continues teaching workshops on Protocol & Etiquette to local schools in Southern California including Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach and Cal Poly Pomona and Chapman University. She enjoys Fashion, Blogging, raising puppies, loves Social Media and Travel. Her family includes two grown sons; a husband who is a Football Coach; and one very spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog. When she is not working you can find her traveling to exotic designations with her handsome Hubby.
This entry was posted in Authentic Self. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

