Friendship, friends can they last forever?


In 2011, you cannot talk about friendships without talking about technology. We tweet, we Facebook and we Linkedin. We connect with our friends from England when we spent a summer aboard on a Rotary Student Exchange. Experts feel that the Internet can blur the lines of genuine friendships and internet friendship.

The women friends that I am the closest to have been my friends for decades. We have survived raising our children together, divorce, remarriage, the work place and losing a parent. Women live a long time, and we must always re-invent ourselves. Our friendships also go through stages of our lives, such as play groups, causes and religion. Some of my best friendships began through the school my children attended, the church we attended and those friends are my rocks.

The workplace is also where most of our close girlfriend relationships begin. Redefining your professional identity can also redefine your friendships. We spend so much time at work that our work friends seem like family after the years roll by. I was lucky to spend many years at the same company, so I had many friends get married when I did, and were pregnant when I was carrying my children. The bond of sisterhood is huge when you see a friend from days gone by who also have children the same age as yours.

Old friendships may be the priceless scrapbooks of our lives, but the new digital friends we made reflect our women we are becoming. And to quote a friend from my early days….”We’re not getting older….we’re getting better”. -erin fontana
And that, my friends is a beautiful and wonderful thing.

About Poisematters

Lori is a recognized Protocol and Etiquette expert who received her training in 1997 from The Protocol School of Washington. Lori is certified and trained in International and Corporate Protocol and Etiquette instruction. Lori began her career with the Disneyland Resort in 1975 and has over 40 years of service with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts. In 2001, Lori Dominguez received the Orange County Tourism Council's Service Excellence award in the area of accommodations (Hotels). Lori continues teaching workshops on Protocol & Etiquette to local schools in Southern California including Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach and Cal Poly Pomona and Chapman University. She enjoys Fashion, blogging, being a dog mom, loves social media and travel. Her family includes two grown sons; a husband who is a high school biology teach; and one very spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendship, friends can they last forever?

  1. Marion says:

    I couldn’t make it through without my Besties! Men come and go; girlfriends last forever.

  2. Great post, Lori. I’m proud to call you my friend and I love the new wordpress format!

Leave a Reply

